Upcoming Trips & Plans for The First Half of 2015

Thank you for letting me share my adventures and travels with you so far.

Having now booked a few trips for 2015, I can’t wait for them to roll around! Here are a few locations – mostly new, some not – on my horizon for the next few months.

If you’ve been to any of the places I’m seeing, or have any tips or recommendations, please let me know – I’d love to hear about them!

10906518_10100124726666427_2940762591979464186_n

A highlight of 2014 – Walking the Europaweg trail to Zermatt. Pic – Greg Church

Bergen, Norway

In a few weeks time, we’ll be heading to Bergen in Norway for a long weekend. It’s my first visit to Norway, and I can’t wait to see both the attractive looking city, and the fjords and mountains that surround it. Hopefully, with a bit of luck, we might see the Aurora Borealis, or Northern Lights. Our trip coincides with a partial solar eclipse that’ll take place on 20th March, and again, with any luck, I’ll be ticking off my first sightings of both.

Bergen - pic from FreeFoto.com

Bergen – pic from FreeFoto.com

 

North Norfolk & The Broads

As a neat opposite to the natural attractions of Bergen, with high wintry peaks and deep icy lakes, a few weeks after returning our trip there, we’ll be in North Norfolk for a weekend – a mostly flat, rural landscape staying in a self catering cottage near the Norfolk Broads for a long weekend of pubs, good food, walks and access to the coastline; that sort of thing. I’ve been to Norwich a couple of times, but never to the Broads. Should be fun!

Norfolk Broads - pic Waveney Campers

Norfolk Broads – pic Waveney Campers

Scotland

In early May, I’ve booked a bit of leave away  from work but haven’t planned or booked anything yet. The original plan was to visit Sutherland county and Cape Wrath, in the far north of Scotland. It’s a area of Scotland I’ve longer wanted to visit, but have never been too, and I’ve never been that far north in the UK. It’s the remotest and arguably wildest part of the British Isles, and I love the idea of chomping around the middle of nowhere, finding a nice spot and pitching a tent for the night. Sadly, I think it’s not quite workable with times, and transport (and friends who want to do it aswell can’t this year), so I’ll likely shelve this idea for the time being, especially with a house move on the horizon aswell.

Glencoe, Scotland

Glencoe, Scotland

An alternative is the West Highland Way, a multi day, 90 mile hike from Glasgow to Fort William I’ve always wanted to do – it passes through an area of Scotland I know reasonably well, but haven’t explored that much on foot. And I’ll need to test out camping gear before my trip to……..

Iceland

So I know I’ve written about this before, but I’m incredibly excited about my two week summer volunteer trip to Iceland, helping with footpath maintenance work in the Thorsmork area of the south of the country. It’s a culmination of a dream to visit the country – I’ll be sharing the time between the ‘basecamp’ lodge and wild camping towards, I assume, the remote head of the Laugavegur Trail.

Iceland - pic Alastair Humphreys

Iceland – pic Alastair Humphreys

Write-ups & photos

I’m also in the process of shifting through some photos and starting write-ups of old trips from the last few years. These include travelling across the transcontinent of Canada by train, and also a visit to Stockholm, then returning to London by train through Denmark, Germany and Belgium.

I’m frustrated not having a decent camera, so I’m looking into upgrading my resources for that soon (basically actually get one). Most of my posts from travels in 2014 and this year so far have contained either photos taken from my camera phone, lovingly stolen from kind friends, or from a borrowed compact camera – but I haven’t been satisfied when comparing the recent pictures to older trips using my old, and now sold, SLR Nikon D60 I had a few years ago.

18 thoughts on “Upcoming Trips & Plans for The First Half of 2015

    • Inadvertently, certainly! I actually hadn’t heard about that before! It’s a great idea. I like to get away as much as possible, money & time permitting, even if its a day or weekend somewhere near London!

      Like

  1. Bergen is often considered as one of the best town in Scandinavia, I can’t wait to see your pictures, I hope you will enjoy yourself ! Are you taking the Bergen Railway ? the best train journey in the world according to them ? 😀

    I’m heading to Scotland at the end of june, for 3 weeks, I going to do a road trip, and do several hikes along the way.

    As for Iceland, you will love it !!! how exciting !!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks – enjoy your trip to Scotland. Where abouts are you going?

      I’ve got my eye on both the Fløibanen funicular & the Flamsbana railway. Will have to save the Olso to Bergen line for another visit!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Starting in Callender, we’ll explore Loch lomond and the trossachs, then Oban, Fort Williams, Isle sky, Ullapool, Thurso, Inversness, around aberdeen and finally, ending in the Scottish borders 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I have been trying to get your Dad to walk the West a Highland Way so I will be a bit peeved if you do it before he and I do

    Like

  3. Hi James! I have been to both Norway and Scotland but unfortunately not for hiking … unless you count “city hiking” – my wife and I put in some miles in Edinburgh! Norway is beautiful too – I expect you will find the people to be extremely friendly and the all speak perfect English. What really caught my eye was your planned Iceland trip! We are going to iceland this summer to hike the Laugavegur Trail! Don’t not sure if we will make it all the way to the Thorsmork area though – we have 4 days planned starting at the other end! Have a great time!

    Also any tips you might have on how to attract more followers to my blog would be greatly appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

